A song in my heart, Friedrich Kunath by Dan Fox

“This article was written to the accompaniment of the following records:

‘Last Night I Dreamt that Somebody Loved Me’ – The Smiths (1987)
‘Hymne à l’amour’ – Edith Piaf (1950)
‘Don’t Pull Your Love’ – Glen Campbell (1965)
‘I’d Love Just Once to See You’ – The Beach Boys (1968)
‘I Love Perth’ – Pavement (1996)
‘Love in a Void’ – Sioxsie and the Banshees (1979)
‘Some Kinda Love’ – The Velvet Underground (1969)
‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ – Joy Division (1980)
‘You’ve Lost that Loving Feeling’ – Dionne Warwick (1969)
‘The Look of Love’ – Dusty Springfield (1967)
‘Ever Fallen in Love’ – Buzzcocks (1978)
‘This Is Not a Love Song’ – PIL (1983)
‘I Was Made to Love Magic’ – Nick Drake (1967)
‘Doesn’t Love Mean More?’ – Jimmy Scott (1990)
‘There’s Nothing Wrong with Love’ – Built to Spill (1994)
‘I’m Gonna Love the Hell Out of You’ – Silver Jews (2001)
‘Careless Love’ – Will Oldham (2001)
‘Aloneagainor’ – Love (1967)
‘Hurt’ – Johnny Cash (2003)” (Dan Fox)

I re-read A song in my heart (link) tonight, a beautifully evocative monograph written in 2003 by Dan Fox, for Frieze magazine, about the artist Friedrich Kunath. It is probably my favourite article ever from the arts magazine – music and art, it’s a great combination.

2 responses to “A song in my heart, Friedrich Kunath by Dan Fox

  1. What a great concept – thanks again for introducing something interesting and just a little bit different x

Leave a Reply

